top of page

Phantom Wave: Arcata's Home-Grown Electronic Record Label

Being one of the only limited record labels in Humboldt County, with reputable artists, you would imagine the owner Evan Wrye would be anything but humble. Wrye in fact loves the idea of being an independent, semi-profitable, record label dedicated to giving the artists the tools they need to get their music heard. Phantom Wave Records began as a fun project Wrye had made for his first EP release, under the name Wrye. Inspired by 70’s and 80’s vintage film scores, the EP prompted the idea of starting a record label. The EP was for Wrye’s very own film score, it featured a track he wanted remixed by his friends. This EP with guest remixes became the first EP ever released by Wrye as Phantom Wave Records. Having a perfect name that resonated with his over all vision in the end, the label began to release more and more artist’s EPs and albums over the years. As it strayed away from the never established goal of creating a solely horror film scored based genre, it evolved into an experimental electronic label instead. Wrye and I sat down at Northtown Coffee to chat about his record label, tips for small label entrepreneurs, underground status, staying humble, and finding talent in a small town.

Lost Coast Avenger: What would you say your position is for Phantom Wave Records

Evan Wrye: Founder and label-boss of Phantom Wave. It started in December 2012 when I wanted to put out some vinyl, specifically a 12-inch vinyl of my own music. At the time I was really obsessing over like 70s and 80s movie music. I was actually a filmmaker before I was a musician, butI don’t really consider myself a musician anymore. So I had been working on a four song EP with music that was inspired by 70s and 80s horror movie music stuff like Goblin or John Carpenter. I wanted to put out this record and I asked like three of my friends, who were also produces to make remixes of one of the tracks, the title track called “This is Grindhouse”. I was just trying to come up with like a funny new genre of house music that’s basically horror movie music. Those same three guys, DAT-1, Onhell and Oskowski basically became founding members of the label as well just being part of the record. Yeah that’s pretty much the origin story.

Lost Coast Avenger: For someone who has never heard of Phantom Wave, how would you best describe it?

Wrye: A record label that doesn't really have a genre specific sound, the only real common thread throughout a lot of the EP’s, and this is kind of how I really wanted to be, was kind of more on the experimental side. It doesn't need to be a certain way and it doesn't need to be a certain genre. I have heard a lot of people talk about how they think it’s an industrial label, or they think it’s horror movie music it isn’t really. It’s only because the second EP that we put out was DAT-1’s record. He’s a dark producer; he makes really beautiful dark tracks so he formed this sort of one-two-punch of just darkness for our label’s reputation. Then we released Onhell’s, which really wasn’t as dark, you know he’s sort of like a bright light on the label, for sure. Since then we’ve released two of Onhells EP’s and Dr. Foxmeat who is more on the experimental pop side. The last one we released was Ventricosa, who’s in Seattle and was originally from here, he is probably the most experimental. It was easiest to find people who lived here since we’re in a small town it wouldn’t make sense to look for a specific type of music.

Lost Coast Avenger: What do you feel is the purpose of label?

Wrye: To find unique new music and try to get more producers known for people to hear. It’s definitely not a money making endeavor, there’s definitely no money to be made selling vinyl. I supply digital distribution aggregates with Amazon Spotify and iTunes and like a bunch of others that I can't even list off the top of my head but those are the three big ones that I know. We are working again on beat port. I also wanted to mention that we help with any sort of design work that has to be done too. I am a graphic designer, and a couple of the other guys have background in graphic design as well. We just do general stuff to really get the artists more known. Seeing as how when you're an unknown artist you’re not really making any money the best thing that the label can really offer is advice and guidance on getting more listeners. We also help out with music videos too; you know as a filmmaker I really enjoy making music videos for the artists on the label.

Lost Coast Avenger: Was Phantom Wave started simply out of fun?

Wrye: Fun, yeah it was something that I just had to do. I have thrown so many fun shows in the past. These guys are like a unique family that has helped each other out we aren’t really alone. On that note, I don't know how to say this but there are only guys on the label and we’re trying to change that. I’m kind of looking out for some female produces. They’re a little bit harder to find I feel like. I need to keep my eye out for more female producers.

Lost Coast Avenger: Why did you choose the name Phantom Wave?

Wrye: Phantom wave is like the phantom limb syndrome where you feel like you have a limb that isn’t really there, where phantom wave is like a sound wave that also isn’t there. It kind of correlates a little bit with the idea that it takes a lot of work to be on it 24-seven but sometimes you just have to stay humble we're all pretty humble and realize we’re not Brainfeeder. We’re still Humboldt underground I actually really enjoy being on that kind of level.

Lost Coast Avenger: You wouldn’t mind staying unconventionally “low-key”?

Wrye: Yeah I mean I guess we could blow up eventually but it's really impossible you kind of need thousands and thousands of dollars to put into advertising and that’s not necessarily what I want. I don't really feel like being that, it's not really something that I am concerned about. I don’t want to be super huge, as an individual artist and label owner I try my best to get some blogs to talk about us, but a lot of it is done on their own. Onhell (on his own) has recently moved to the Bay Area and has really been able to pull together a much bigger audience than out here. Onhell has been the one artist spearheading the shows and getting the word out of the label, he has expressed some interest in putting shows out in the Bay and that would be great to get just a name out there in a bigger city out of Humboldt. Ventricosa also lives in Seattle, so it looks like we’re gaining more and more exposure as artists move away and that’s great.

Lost Coast Avenger: Since you are one of the only labels around, what prompts you to choose the music you have on your label?

Wrye: If it's music that I feel is a new unique sound and I feel like it would resonate with an audience out here. Then I will put in effort to put together something that they can release. Recently, Hudson Glover seems to be the best example of a newly discovered artist. I think I've heard like everything he has online so far and some of it is so great. I believe he's working on two or three songs to put out actually hopefully this summer. I'll probably see him in a couple weeks so yeah I’m excited to see where this collaboration with the label goes. By Benji Aguirre Phantom Wave Records releases are available at all local record stores and online. The label also gives updates and digital gifts on their Tumblr page. Check the Lost Coast Avenger calendar for Phantom Wave artists playing around town and read our feature on [possible] Phantom Wave newcomer Hudson Glover. phantomwaverecords.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page